hardshelloldregularbaptist

Home » Uncategorized » I AM that I AM expresses God’s immutability.

I AM that I AM expresses God’s immutability.

Start here

In the book of Exodus, you can find where Moses has been on the lam for close to 40 years after killing an Egyptian, when he comes upon a burning bush. He is amazed that it is burning, but it is not consumed. As he approaches it, he hears the voice of God, and tells him to take off his shoes because he is on holy ground. As they converse, God tells him to do something, and Moses tries to come up with an excuse as to why he can not do it. I want to focus upon this one thing, however. When Moses asked Him,”Lo, I am coming unto the sons of Israel, and have said to them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you, and they have said to me, What [is] His name?” what do I say unto them?‘(Exodus 3:13) God told him this;  “I Am That Which I Am;’ He saith also, `Thus dost thou say to the sons of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.'” (Exodus 3:14) Now, focus in on “I AM that which I AM”. What would be the significance of the way God spoke that. It all boils down to God’s immutability. God is the same yesterday, today, and forever.(Hebrews 13:8) Jesus affirmed this on a few occasions of being the I AM of the bible.

 

 

In John 11, Lazarus is sick, nearly dead, and his sisters, Mary and Martha, send word unto Jesus that Lazarus is nearly dead and that they needed Him to come and heal him. Jesus tarried for two days and then made the travel. To make a long story short, He conversed with Mary and told her that Lazarus would live again. Mary said he would live again on the resurrection at the last day. To which Jesus said, “I AM the rising again!  and the life; he who is believing in me, even if he may die, shall live; and every one who is living and believing in me shall not die — to the age.”(John 11:25,26)  Jesus is the rising again of all them that are in Him. Both saint and sinner will rise again at His coming in the Cloud, but only those who are His shall never taste the second death…the lake of fire. He is the firstfruit of them which sleep.(1 Cor. 15:20) If Christ were to have spoken this, He could have said, “I AM the Firstfruit of them which are sleeping.” The dead in sin are dead, but the saints who died, never truly died, but are asleep. What do I mean by that? Look at Stephen for instance. In Acts 7, after he is stoned, and has seen Christ standing on the right hand of God, and after he said to lay not this sin against them, the bible says Stephen fell asleep. To be dead is to be seperated from God, whether whilst a sinner walking around, or buried. The body of both the saint and sinner dies, but the souls of the saints never die. The body, at the point of salvation, was not cleanesed, only the soul. The soul has “risen again”, because the “I AM the Rising Again” has done the work within them that only He could do. They go back to be with Him, and when He returns to judge the world in righteousness, He will bring back the souls of them that died in Him and they will reunite with their bodies that come forth out of the ground. Their bodies will rise again. The “I AM”, the “Rising Again”, will bring them forth when He comes with a shout, with a voice of the Arch Angel, and with the trump of God.(1 Thess. 4).

 

Then in John 14, Jesus told them that He had to go away and prepare a place for them, and conversely, us. He told them also that if He went away, He would come again and receive us and take us to be with Him. Oh what a precious promise this is! Thomas, in verse 5, asked Him, “`Sir, we have not known whither thou goest away, and how are we able to know the way?’ Jesus then told Thomas in verse 6, “`I am the way, and the truth, and the life.” It is amazing at all the “I AM” references you can find in the bible.

 

In John 15, Jesus told them, ” I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman.” We who abide in Him, and who produce fruit, He will purge/prune it, that it will produce more fruit.

 

In John 10, Jesus stated, ” I am the door of the sheep; all, as many as came before me, are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them; I am the door, through me if any one may come in, he shall be saved, and he shall come in, and go out, and find pasture.”(vsts 7-9) He then went on to say, “`I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd his life layeth down for the sheep; and the hireling, and not being a shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, doth behold the wolf coming, and doth leave the sheep, and doth flee; and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep; and the hireling doth flee because he is an hireling, and is not caring for the sheep.I am the good shepherd, and I know my [sheep], and am known by mine, according as the Father doth know me, and I know the Father, and my life I lay down for the sheep, and other sheep I have that are not of this fold, these also it behoveth me to bring, and my voice they will hear, and there shall become one flock — one shepherd.”(vss 11-16)

There is no other way to get to heaven than through Jesus. As I have showed you, Jesus is “the way, the truth, the life, the ‘Rising Again’, the True Vine, the Door unto the sheepfold, and the good Shepherd of the sheep. He’s not, “I used to be the good Shepherd”, or “I am going to be the good Shpherd”, but He has always been the good Shepherd, He has always been the Way, the Truth, and the Life. He has always been the Door into the sheepfold, that we may go in and out and find pasture. He has always been the “Rising Again”. He has always been all of this. He is immutable and waivers not.

 

So in closing, I just wanted to show that God is “I AM”. What I am driving at is this. God being “I AM” is nothing akin to saying “I am going to be”, or “I used to be”, but God is always “I AM”. He will always be “I AM”. He never changes. We must be the ones who change if we are to be in Christ. However, He is the One who makes the change in us.

I will close with these few verses:

For to Abraham God, having made promise, seeing He was able to swear by no greater, did swear by Himself, saying, `Blessing indeed I will bless thee, and multiplying I will multiply thee;’ and so, having patiently endured, he did obtain the promise; for men indeed do swear by the greater, and an end of all controversy to them for confirmation [is] the oath, in which God, more abundantly willing to shew to the heirs of the promise the immutability of his counsel, did interpose by an oath, that through two immutable things, in which [it is] impossible for God to lie, a strong comfort we may have who did flee for refuge to lay hold on the hope set before [us], which we have, as an anchor of the soul, both sure and stedfast, and entering into that within the vail, whither a forerunner for us did enter — Jesus, after the order of Melchisedek chief priest having become — to the age.

 

Jesus Christ yesterday and to-day the same, and to the ages.(Hebrews 13:8)

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

